Queensland border opens to regional NSW

Queensland border opens to regional NSW

Queensland border opens to regional NSW

03 November 2020

The Queensland Government has revoked its border closure to regional NSW (excludes Greater Sydney), meaning non-essential travellers will no longer be required to quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival in Queensland.

Travellers must declare that they have not been in a COVID-19 hotspot (Victoria and Greater Sydney) in the 14 days prior to their travel. Travellers can transit through Sydney Airport, but must not leave the terminal during their transit. People in all other states and territories can come to Queensland if they haven’t been in a COVID-19 hotspot in the past 14 days and will avoid a 14-day quarantine.

Each person, including children and unaccompanied minors, who plan to enter Queensland must apply for a Queensland Border General Declaration PassA border declaration pass may be granted to travellers from a hotspot if they are travelling to perform essential activities, but they must apply for an essential activity category Queensland Border Declaration Pass. For more information, click here.

Upon arrival in Queensland, Travellers will be required to present their Queensland Border Declaration Pass and photo ID to officials. Penalties apply for false declarations. Travellers whom don’t meet QLD eligibility for entry, or don’t hold exemption issued from the QLD Chief Health Officer – are not eligible for intrastate transfers and must only be accepted to the first QLD port of arrival.

If a person arrives from a COVID-19 hotspot by air for the sole purpose of transiting through — and didn’t leave the confines of the airport — they’re not considered to have been in a hotspot.

If you had a layover at Melbourne Tullamarine airport you must quarantine for 14 days in government-arranged accommodation at your own expense when you arrive in Queensland.

For more information, click here.